SAEEC Energy Award winners

The yearly Southern African Energy Efficiency Confederation (SAEE) Conference took place in mid-November, and the SAEEC Energy Awards Ceremony recognised outstanding accomplishments of individuals and companies in the industry.

Congratulations to the 2018 Award winners:

Energy Innovator of the Year went to the outspoken Songo Didiza who founded the Green Building Design Group and has been instrumental in engaging both the private and public sectors for sustainable change in South Africa.

Energy Manager Professional of the Year for 2018 was awarded to Albert Williams, with 13 years of experience conducting over 140 energy audits and training over 1100 engineers around the world.

A new award for the Young Energy Professional of the Year went to Mukuru Wesigye from LTM Energy who project managed & coordinated the rollout of Solar Home Systems to 4900 beneficiaries in Eastern Cape and KwaZulu Natal and is currently project managing and coordinating the rollout of additional 1 574 systems in KwaZulu Natal under the DoE INEP program.

Another new award was the Female Energy Professional of the Year which was given to Heather McEwan for her mentoring of students through the Limpopo Economic Development Environmental and Tourism (LEDET) internship program.

The prestigious Energy Services Company of the Year went to Nelson Mandela Bay based company IDM Solutions, which has saved SPAR Eastern Cape R7.8 million to date on energy costs through their energy saving mechanisms.

Commercial Corporate Company of the Year and the Commercial Energy Project of the Year went to Netcare Hospitals, for its 63 energy saving projects and initiatives across the groups 55 hospitals resulting in the reduction of its carbon footprint by more than 16 000 tons of CO2 per year.

Industrial Corporate Company of the Year was awarded to Supreme Spring which achieved over 60% water savings applying principles of CEM, having maintained and improved on energy savings consistently over the last six years.

The Industrial Energy Project of the Year went to Groote Schuur Hospital which reduced its coal consumption by 60% over the past eight years thanks to their engineering department’s adoption of energy saving practices.

Innovative Project of the Year went to Two Dam Sustainable Partnership for their Net Zero Carbon certification, focus on renewable energy, improved water supply and use, alien clearing projects and waste management practices.

Three Special Awards were also given. The Ian Ernest Hall of Fame was awarded to a past SAEEC President Karel Steyn. A Long Service in Energy Award was given to Prof. OD Dintchev who along with Karel Steyn has been a faithful pioneer and ambassador for the Energy landscape in South Africa. And a Special Legends of Energy Award was given to the lady who has been the back bone of the SAEEC over the past decade, Erika Kruger.

(Pictured is the solar PV installation at Two Dam Sustainable near Montagu.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s